Heart - Dreamboat Annie
Heart - Dreamboat Annie

Heart - Dreamboat Annie

Regular price $14.99 Sale

Tracklist Show Credits

A1 Magic Man 5:35
A2 Dreamboat Annie (Fantasy Child) 1:55
A3 Crazy On You 3:54
A4 Soul Of The Sea 6:35
A5 Dreamboat Annie 2:02
B1 White Lightning & Wine 3:53
B2 Love Me Like Music (I'll Be Your Song) 3:20
B3 Sing Child 4:55
B4 How Deep It Goes 3:49
B5 Dreamboat Annie (Reprise) 3:48


Dreamboat Annie is the debut album by American rock band Heart. At the time, the band was based in Vancouver British Columbia, and the album was recorded in B.C. and first released in Canada by the local label Mushroom Records in the summer of 1975. It was released in the United States on 14 February 1976 through the subsidiary of Mushroom Records in Los Angeles. The album contains three hit singles which became staples on FM radio. Producer Mike Flicker helped the group to polish their sound and obtain a recording contract with the label.

AllMusic Review by

In the 1980s and '90s, numerous women recorded blistering rock, but things were quite different in 1976 -- when female singers tended to be pigeonholed as soft rockers and singer/songwriters and were encouraged to take after Carly Simon, Melissa Manchester, or Joni Mitchell rather than Led Zeppelinor Black Sabbath. Greatly influenced by Zep, Heart did its part to help open doors for ladies of loudness with the excellent Dreamboat Annie (reissued on a gold audiophile CD by DCC Compact Classics in 1995). Aggressive yet melodic rockers like "Sing Child," "White Lightning & Wine," and the rock radio staples "Magic Man" and "Crazy on You" led to the tag "the female Led Zeppelin." And in fact, Robert Plant did have a strong influence on Ann Wilson. But those numbers and caressing, folk-ish ballads like "How Deep It Goes" and the title song also make it clear that the Nancy and Ann Wilson had their own identity and vision early on.